how did your week go?

Mine started fine and went downhill quickly.

Thursday I woke up with a major sore throat and stuffed up nose. A cold, yes, everyone gets colds. But it also happened to coincide with my husband being out of town for two days. And I had errands to run – mail that had to go out that day but stamps that had to be purchased first. I looked at the weather on my phone and this is what I saw:

cold

that is cold. winter, I am so over you.

I went to bed at 9 pm Thursday night thinking I could get some good rest and feel better Friday. Ada had other plans. She was up all night. 12:45. 3:00. (then I couldn’t fall asleep until 4). 4:45. 6:00. I finally gave in and got up for the day at 6 am.

It was cold again. I had to shuffle three kids out the door in -9 degrees to get Cora to school. And then Della to school. We were all standing at the door ready to go and I noticed my coat was all wet. And my jeans and shirt too. I smelled it and yes, the dog had peed on my coat (she doesn’t like the cold weather either apparently). When you are pregnant (and ok, hormonal) you don’t have many clothes that fit so this felt like a very big deal. I put on some other maternity pants that fell down all morning. And rushed everyone to their schools.

Chocolate cookies and hot tea were on my agenda. And then I came across this article on facebook and I cried (ugly sobbing) for a good half hour. I cried for that poor fifth grade girl and her family. I cried for her classmates. I selfishly cried for myself and for how much I miss my parish and school that still feel so much like home to me. I cried for all the injustice in the world that I can’t wrap my head around.

And I ate more cookies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

